Women’s March 2017

women-march

All over the world – women (and men) united to march for a cause they truly believe in. Here is a statement from their website about their cause before I get into talking about my  almost indescribable experience.

Women’s March Global invites individuals and organizations committed to equality, diversity, and inclusion and those who understand women’s rights as human rights to join our local coalitions of marchers in representing the rights and voices of progressive people around the world.

As concerned citizens standing up for human rights, Women’s March Global immediately seeks to increase the number of coalitions participating in the upcoming global marches, while continuing to organize future campaigns. Women’s March Global is building and empowering a persistent global network that will organize future campaigns and actions in support of progressive values including women’s rights.

Women’s March Global is a proactive international movement, not a U.S. election-specific protest per se, which has galvanized people to defend women’s rights and those of others in response to the rising rhetoric of far-right populism around the world.

 I was on my way back home from New York and I was on the hunt for the perfect brunch before heading to Grand Central Station to catch a ride back and I went to Bryant Park to scope out the area for some good spots. As I was wandering around, I noticed a lot of people holding signs and it was at that point that I knew something big and important was happening. I officially found out about it from the nicest security guard ever at the New York Public Library (which let me tell you, is absolutely beautiful)! I never intended on going to the march even after hearing about it because I didn’t think I would be able to find it – and let me tell you how wrong I was.

After a quick lunch at a small little place, I tried to find the train station and on my way there, I saw how blocked off 5th ave was. It was full of people protesting and marching and it was truly magical. I only intended to stop and quickly look but somehow I found myself climbing over the barricade marching along with all these amazing people.

The cause itself was amazing but the energy was crazy. I was listening to Kids (Soulwave Remix) by MGMT and I couldn’t help but feel so pumped up to be there. The amount of people I saw was crazy. There were so many men, women, and children alike all fighting for something that should be a basic human right.

Being there was unlike any other experience I’ve ever had and I 100% can’t put into words how amazing it was.  I’m so proud of everyone who marched and everyone who took  part on this day. It was truly amazing to be part of something so much bigger than I am.

A quote I saw that resonated with me most and will continue to stay with me is “Respect existence  or expect resistance”. With that being said, I’m so grateful that I happened to be in the right place at the right time and my experience was truly amazing and one of a kind.

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-12-34-33-am

Here are some photos that I took – most highlight my favorite signs!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
I wish I could capture how many people were there and the vibe that was there.

img_1181Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
My favorite picture I’ve ever taken!
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
I loved her sign and she happily posed for a picture! Thank you to whoever you are!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

img_1201-1
A fitting last picture from my adventures protesting. It is no secret that I will miss this amazing man and his sweet family.

Leave a Reply

